Discovery and Purpose

Many people spend an inordinate amount of time attempting to discover the meaning of life – or at least the meaning of their own life.  While for some this is a fruitless search, others find that the search for meaning becomes the purpose itself.  I have begun to suspect that our purpose in life changes over time.. and is largely based on who we are, when we are, and where we are.

I believe I have discovered a key to my own life.. it didn’t come at some moment of inspired insight or a flash of intuitive knowledge as so often happens with other areas of my life.  It happened over time – an unfolding process that has led me to this realization.

I’ve known for many years that my personality and energy is that of a healer.  My interests and studies have granted me various depths of knowledge in numerous spiritual practices and traditions as well as more practical aspects of understanding people and their situations. My current studies as a Psychology Grad student are adding tremendously to that store of knowledge. In addition to that knowledge I’ve ingrained other skills through studies of martial arts, massage therapy, dance, and energy work.  All of this knowledge, experience and energy draws me to the healing arts – whether that be physical, mental, emotional, or spiritual.  I can’t speak to how many times I’ve found myself in this role with friends and complete strangers alike.

But the story doesn’t end there…

Since my discovery of self and my transition into a more complete person, I have been drawn more and more into social activism.  I began by volunteering to help facilitate the local transsexual support group.  That affiliation has since led into potential political involvement at the state level.

My unique military situation as an out trans woman in the US Army has also opened some doors into avenues for facilitating change – this time at a national level.  I’ve already met some amazing people that had only been names and pictures in the news prior to this.  It has been an honor to become involved with these folks and these organizations – people and parties helping to lead the latest fight in US civil rights issues.  While I’ve never had a desire for fame or celebrity status I do now see the benefit of stepping out from the shadows and making my voice, and my story heard.

During this explosion of involvement I had the pleasure of meeting a number of my peers – trans men and trans women serving in the military.  This was the experience of a lifetime and something that has been a highlight in my already eventful life.   Getting to know them all, hearing their stories, sharing in the tears and laughter, and creating shared stories of our own – I have truly found a home and a family I’m proud to be a part of.  It’s a privilege to consider these fellows my siblings and to be viewed as the older sister in the group.

So what am I saying?  Perhaps it’s premature to say with true clarity.  But I find that my life had led to a feeling of purpose and opened avenues for action.

The fight for equality shall not be won in the court room or by political debate.  It shall be won in the hearts and minds of the people of the world.

For the coming battles I’ve set aside the useless weapons of my past and am poised to don the robes of the peace-maker.  I eagerly look forward to standing with my peers in the coming struggles.


Leave a comment